What types of need fall into each category

Although, by no means exhaustive, these lists give a good overview:

Communication & Interaction

  • Autistic Spectrum Condition (ASC)
  • Speech, Language and Communication Needs (SLCN)

Cognition & Learning

  • Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD)
  • Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulty (PMLD)
  • Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD)
  • Specific Learning Difficulty (SpLD)
  • Dyscalculia, Dysgraphia, Dyslexia & Dyspraxia.

Social, Emotional & Mental Health Difficulties

  • Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Adjustment Disorders
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (‘OCD’)

Sensory and/or Physical

  • Hearing Impairment (HI)
  • Visual Impairment (VI)
  • Multi-Sensory Impairment (MSI)
  • Physical Disability (PD)
Close Menu